Women in the Workplace

You better work, girl.

Hi. Welcome. Here’s what you just stumbled upon:

I’ve spent years climbing that corporate ladder, in heels and sometimes pantyhose, and now I’m ready to jump off. But not because I didn’t love it (I’ll take a Power Lunch or Speed Networking Event any day of the week) – but because it’s occurred to me that early career professionals are kind of out there on their own. And early career female professionals? Yeah, you’re thrown to the wolves. Let’s hope they don’t smell fresh blood.

And that’s where The Working Girl was born.

I’ve been fortunate to meet amazing career women and learn some of their tricks and hard-fought lessons. But I wish I had known it sooner. And I wish I had known what to ask. Yes, hindsight will always be 20/20 but what if you knew a little more before you even started? Would that be nice?

Let’s be real: We know not all are created (or treated) equal in the workforce. Women have a long way to go for workplace equality but to quote female entrepreneur (and everyone’s spirit animal) Oprah, “When you know better, you do better.” Amen.

It’s not going to be easy, but my hope is to connect young women with early career resources to close the gap, find the opportunity and fill that boardroom with estrogen.

Now let’s get to work. 

 

 

Leave a Reply

